Written by 
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

Presentation Night 2017 - The Full Rundown of The Evening

Sunday, 14 May 2017 15:34




Around 120 guests sat down to a three-course dinner at the Premier Plus Stadium on Saturday evening to celebrate an overall successful season for the St Neots Town’s three senior sides.

The First team had retained their status at Step Three of the National League system finishing 19th in the league – one place higher than last season.   Tributes were paid to Manager Matt Clements who had revitalised the squad after taking over at Christmas and his plans for next season were well under way with an Assistant Manager and Senior Coach already in place.    A full list of pre-season friendly matches was in place starting on 8th July including visits by Football League clubs Mansfield Town, Stevenage FC and Cambridge United.   (Full list available on Club website).


The newly constituted Reserve side under Manager Mark Gearing had played an inaugural season in Division Two of the South Midlands League finishing ninth with the second half of the season tailing off after a bright start.   The huge gap in standard between Senior and Reserve sides meant that player progression was difficult but the ongoing co-operation between Reserves and the U18 squad had been a great success with no fewer than 11 of the U18 squad playing Saturday football for the Reserves.   Special Awards for those who had assisted the Management team went to Marian Izzard, Craig Lambert, Daniel Dodson, Paul Dodson and Luke Bagnall


However, the real stars this season had been the U18 side who had lifted the Thurlow Nunn Cambridge Division League title for the first time in the club’s history and then added the County Cup trophy before going on to feature in the semi-finals of the League Champions play-off.   The squad were then formally presented with their League Winners medals.


MD Lee Kearns had decided to vary the traditional awards pattern beginning by paying a warm tribute to the Club’s Unsung Heroes.   He presented Awards to Daniel Dodson and Barry Oakley and floral tributes to Marian Izzard, Dianne Sales and Lauren Wilding.   He also thanked the Club’s Volunteers, Supporters, Sponsors and Business Partners without which none of the ongoing successes could be achieved.


The Awards were as follows:


Under 18 side

Players’ Player of the Year:                Erhan Nurettin

Managers Player of the Year:            Shae Humphrey

Leading goal scorer:                          Ben Southwood


Reserve side

Most Improved Player                       Reece Beavis

Supporters Player of the Year:          Jake Smith

Players’ Player of the Year:               Jake Smith

Managers Player of the Year:           Kevin Ashby

Leading goal scorer:                         Jake Smith


Club Coach Lee Clarke gave a witty run-down of the first team season at Step Three having returned to the side after recovering from injury and winning back a senior berth.   He is one of three players already committed to St Neots for next season. 

Senior team

Supporters Player of the Year:         Taylor Parr

Players’ Player of the Year:              Jevani Brown

Managers Player of the Year:          Jevani Brown

Leading goal scorer:                        Jevani Brown


John Walker

Club President

14th May 2017

Read 1129 times