Haverhill Rovers 0 : 2 St Neots Town FC
PSF 2018/19
Haverhill Rovers 0 : 2
St Neots Town FC
Tuesday 24 July, 2018 19:45


HAVERHILL ROVERS        0          ST NEOTS  2        

An almost full-strength squad travelled to Thurlow Nunn Premier Division side Haverhill Rovers to play their first away pre-season friendly on a 3G pitch.   They ultimately ran out deservedly comfortable victors by two goals to nil but were thwarted in the first half by some outstanding goalkeeping by home custodian Jamie Philp.

There was a slow start with some attractive football not producing the desired end-product although Johnnie Herd just shared the crossbar with a 25th minute free kick.   The home side made little headway with Saints keeper Harry Reynolds a spectator for long periods, but the match came to life on the half hour when Philp produced two outstanding saves.   Recent signing Lewis Irwin was involved in both moves, firstly seeing a clever downward header clawed away for a corner by the home keeper and then he was played clear by man-of-the match Dylan Williams, but the keeper narrowed his angle to push away at full stretch.   Dion Sembie-Ferris brought a third notable save from Philp and skipper Luke Knight got the ball in the net from a narrow angle following a corner but was ruled offside.

With several team changes the St Neots side looked fresher after the break and should have gone ahead after 61 minutes when playmaker Williams sent Sembie-Ferris clear, but he fired over the bar.   Defender Taylor Parr had two headed efforts from corners well saved and as the second period progressed St Neots looked more and more in control.   The breakthrough came on 73 minutes when Haverhill conceded a free kick 25 yards from goal and a low trademark free kick from Dylan Williams beat the diving keeper to give St Neots the lead.   The result was confirmed in the final minute of the match when substitute Prince Mutswumbuma netted with a smart finish.   Next up is Ryman League Soham Town Rangers at the Premier Plus Stadium on Saturday (ko 3.00 pm)


St Neots: Reynolds, Miles, Herd, Knight, Keeble, Parr, Sembie-Ferris, Peters, Irwin, Williams, Ofosu.

Subs: Wood, Shaw, O’Malley, Mutswumbuma.

John Walker